Connections

I heard from an old friend this evening.  It’s been almost twenty years.

I would have thought that it would be just a matter of opening a message, but I felt my hands shake and my heart hammer.  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I read it.

I figured it would just be another connection for one of my books, then I looked at the name.  It couldn’t be?  How would he even know how to find me on here?  It had to be coincidental.  Didn’t it?

I am very much in love with  my husband.  He is my best friend and my all time favorite person.  I also cared for this person very much at one time.

He was the one who helped me to find peace with my horribly messed up marriage.  He reminded me I was a beautiful and desirable woman.  He showed me that making love shouldn’t hurt, but be mutually enjoyable.

I read that e-mail.  The simplicity of it so unlike the person I knew.  He told me that I was and still am an exciting and charming person.  He had read my book, and recognized the situations, knowing it had to be me.

After the hands stopped shaking and the heart quit pounding, we had a conversation about what was going on in our lives and I realized I have missed his friendship.

I know we’ll never see each other, but hearing him say he still thinks of me, for that moment, reminded of when I was much younger.  I remembered when I was a flirtatious, irresistible woman and I remembered how it felt.  I realized that it’s okay to be friends with the opposite sex, even if at one time you may have had a relationship with him.

I’ll tell John about him tonight, and I’ll smile when I tell him.  I’ll even tell him about the amazing compliment he gave me.  And when I go to sleep, it will be John’s arms around me, but he’ll be there in my heart again, which is the only place he belongs, and he’ll always be.

Welcome back, my friend.

 

Leave a Reply

