Mayonnaise Cake

Since I was a little girl, and that’s been a longgg time, I have been making mayonnaise cakes.  First it was with my mom and then I was doing it alone.

If you’ve never had one, you need to try it.  It is one of the richest and moistest chocolate cakes you will ever have.  The neatest thing is, other than the newest olive oil mayo, any mayo will work.

I’ve also rediscovered a few other favorites of when I was a kid.  Have you ever tried a ‘Tomato Soup’ cake?  It is also a very moist spice cake with raisins and walnuts or almonds if you like.

When I brought in the cupcake, no one thought twice about the mayonnaise cake because, like my brothers and sisters, my children and their children were brought up with it.  My daughter’s fiancé, however; that was another response.  He looked at me like I had three heads.  Then he tasted it.  The tomato soup cake got the same response.

Before I left, I had to promise to make more cake before my sister returned to Florida and my soon to be son-in-law wants me to give him the recipes.

Try them for yourselves then let me know what you think.

Mayonnaise Cake

3/4 C cocoa

2 1/2 C flour

1 C sugar

A dash of salt

1/2 t baking soda

3/4 C mayo

1 C hot water

1 t vanilla

Mix dry ingredients together in the mixer.  Add the mayo and hot water.  Mix till totally mixed.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes.  That’s all there is to it.  I always use peanut butter icing.  But go with what you prefer

Tomato Soup Cake

2 1/2 C flour

1/2 t allspice

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t ginger

1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1 1/4 C sugar

1 Can condensed tomato soup

1 1/4 C hot water

1 C packed raisins

Mix dry ingredients.  Add tomato soup and water.  Mix well

375 degrees for about 40 -45 minutes.

Goes really well with Cream Cheese icing or just plain.

I hope you enjoy these recipes.  Let me know.  ;0

Leave a Reply

