Going out for Supper

My daughter called and invited John and I for supper tonight.  I readily agreed.

She is just as good of a cook as what I am, (I guess she’s had a good teacher) and her house is one that you always feel welcome in.

The kids are noisy and obnoxious which is just how I like them.  She can be totally inappropriate and disrespectful, and her better half is someone who can make you smile even when it pisses you off because you don’t want to.  (He reminds me a lot of my husband.)

The only problem was, I’ve been on a diet for the last month.  I’ve lost 25 pounds, my clothes are getting big which means I’ll soon have to break out the sewing machine, Ugh, and I feel really good about it.

So…I walk in and the first thing she does is hand me a glass of moscato.  Wine is a big downfall for me.  I even make my own.  She makes chicken, which is good for me, but has it stuffed with pepperoni and mozzarella and wrapped in prosciutto.  Her dessert, just happens to be this absolutely beautiful looking chocolate concoction with cake and Grenache and whipped topping and everything else I shouldn’t have.

Now, I don’t want to be picky and hurt her feelings, so I drank all of my wine and decided I really shouldn’t turn down the next glass of wine, or for that matter, the third, because I didn’t want her to think I was being rude.  I also had a chicken breast.  After all chicken is good when you’re on a diet, and I did give a piece of the pepperoni to John.

And then she looked at me with these eyes that said it wouldn’t be nice if I didn’t have some dessert.  What can you do?  She’s my daughter.  Who am I to let her think I don’t appreciate her hard work.

My granddaughters were keeping me busy and making me laugh and my grandson was entertaining me with his newest talent of playing a ukulele. (He’s actually really good.)  I honestly didn’t realize how much wine I had had or how much chocolate I had consumed.

That is until we got in the car.

Did I tell you I have been dieting quite strictly lately?

Since the only things I’ve had are water, unsweetened iced tea, vegetables and lean meat, for the last two months, the added indulgence of bliss in the form of chocolate and sweet wine, made the meal even more tempting.

I got in the car and since I am already night blind I was glad I couldn’t drive, because I honestly couldn’t have driven if my life depended on it.  And it probably would have if I had been driving.

I got home, knowing I had to finish my laundry, and pulled the clothes from the dryer.  I was never so happy to finish folding laundry as I was tonight.

My stomach was tumbling as hard as those clothes in the driver.  My head was spinning like the tub of the washer in spin cycle.

I am done with laundry.  I have drunk half a gallon of water.  I have taken a couple of aspirin.  I believe I will soon be in bed.  And if anyone is thinking how foolish I was, you’re wrong.  Tonight was one of those nights that aren’t extremely memorable, but when it comes to highlights in my life, it will go down as one of the best.  I had my grandchildren and my daughter with me and we laughed.

I am now looking forward to my next memory.  That will be when our Christmas party comes and I’ll have a houseful of people, my family all around me, I’ll be exhausted from cooking and cleaning all day, but at the end of the day John will say thank you for a beautiful day, my family will go home with smiles on their face, and when the rest of the people leave the next day, I’ll still be tired, but I’ll know that we’ve created more memories, not just for me, but for everyone who were there.

December 17, 2016    Mark the date.  I’m cooking.  There’s always room for one more.

Leave a Reply

